Dieting after Age 50

Dieting after Age 50 …

Plan your menus.

Plan your menus.

Overweight at age 50—wasn’t that normal? The thing that baffled me was no matter what I did, I just kept gaining weight. I had my usual excuses for not dieting or exercising. I’m too old. It’s too hot. It’s too cold. It’s raining. I’m too tired. I was always too something. It was easy to look around and see someone heavier than myself. It made me feel better, but it didn’t make me skinnier or healthier. If my vanity didn’t kick in soon and cause me to diet, maybe realizing I needed to lose for my health’s sake would work.

Then one day I decided, I don’t want to be 27 pounds overweight. Becoming the right weight had to be possible, and in spite of the discouraging feelings, I could lose weight. However, I wasn’t sure I had what it took. I suspected it would be like being on a diet for the rest of my life. I would have to go slow with my diet because my body seemed to demand food…crave large quantities of it. I ate too much fat, too much sugar, and too much bread. When I ate like I did when I was young, I put on fat.

Here are some things I did that helped me be successful when dieting:

  1. Be consistent. I know a lot of diets that say you can break your diet now and then. That may be true, but I can’t do that or I’m breaking my diet all the time. However, if I do break my diet, it has to be rarely, and the next day I have to get right back on the diet.
  2. Weigh often, at least once a week.
  3. Cut sugar as much as possible. Don’t worry about cutting out anything else yet.
  4. Have less fat calories. After my body adjusted to no sweets/sugar, I put the level of fat calories down to about 135 per day. This meant I can butter my toast in the morning and a tablespoon of dressing on my salad or raw vegetables one other time in the day. That’s about it. If I have nuts, I allow myself about six.
  5. Over age 50, I found bread is a real problem for me. I can only have two or three slices a day. My sister who is five years older than me says she can’t eat bread or she puts on weight. I can’t imagine!
  6. Find the right diet for you. After each of the above steps are taken, I try to eat the amount of healthy food I need…i.e., the right amount of meat, starches, vegetables, fruit, and fat. Some diets that work well are: Weightwatchers, Michael Thurmond, or myfitnesspal.com. Ask your doctor for a diet, or find something you respond to. BUT don’t go on a starvation diet.
  7. Every time I stand on the scale, whether I gain or lose. I tell myself, “be consistent. This will pay off even it is slow. I will wake up one day and this will mean something.” Sure enough, all the consistent work has made a difference.

At the writing of this article, I have lost 14 pounds the last month and a half. Each pound gets harder to lose. But I keep telling myself, “be consistent. Remember this will pay off and will work if I keep at it.”

I have several more pounds to lose, and then after that my next goal is to maintain the weight loss. I hope to have a blog on maintaining weight as soon as I accomplish it. (o:

Good luck on dieting. I hope this helps you.

Leave helpful comment on your diet successes.

~ Karen Gaus ~

Karen Gaus, Author & Speaker

Leave a Reply

